From the Archives …

From the archives of an old occult friend of mine:-
~~~
PagTen From: “.Nisaba Merrieweather” <nisaba@primus.com.au>
To: <PagTen@onelist.com>
Date: Fri, 27 Aug 1999 09:50:04 +1000
Subject: Re: [PagTen] visions
From: “.Nisaba Merrieweather” <nisaba@primus.com.au>

G’dday.

We often get caught up in talking about some things that interest us, and do not talk about other things that interest us and touch us deeply.

Myself, I find that my spirituality is paradoxically more private than my
sex-life and my body – I find talking about sex far easier than face-to-face talking about spirituality, which for some reason I haven’t fathomed embarrasses me. I also feel a bit odd if someone I hardly know launches into a discussion on spirituality – it embarrasses me far more than if they started peeling off their clothes on the street, because they are revealing something that is far more private than flesh.

That is why electronic communication, other forms of writing, and close
covenmates or close friends known to be Pagan-friendly are all so useful – in these circumstances it is easier to discuss the things that are so very intimate, and indeed wonderful to be able to do so.

… It is a tale told by an idiot, full of William Faulkner, signifying
nothing.
.Nisaba Merrieweather

~~~
It is indeed a delight when someone thinks well enough of you to save some of your words! And yes, I still feel the same way. I’ll be raucous about my sex-life – or lack of it – but touchy and bashful about my spiritual life. So I honour my more spiritually-based friendships, such as those with the family of Dan, Ambrosia and Spook, where I don’t have to feel naked and exposed, but can say what I think without embarrassment or editing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From the Archives …

  1. Stella Hoshiko says:

    Well, I have my fair share of embarrassing moments when it comes to discussions of spirituality but I always try to keep them casual enough so as not to appear too loud with them as we all know everyone of us may have different views, even when we are believing on the same beliefs. One thing that I knew I shared the same with Nisaba and also one which had led me to her blogs and knowing her is Tarot itself. It is wonderful to have known her and still learning to know her each and every other day.

Leave a Reply

