Warnings Moving Clockwise

What do you base your life-decisions on? I tend to base mine on a combination of experience and conservativism, desire, fear, quasi-academic research into my options, and just occasionally if I feel my five senses and my brain are not giving me enough information, I might throw a Tarot spread to see how the land lies, energetically speaking.

Someone I know tells her Tarot clients not to base major life-decisions on Tarot readings only. I’ve gone the other way, to my cost. I’ve made a life-decision without taking notice of a Tarot reading, because the ONLY warning I had ahead of time was a Tarot warning. I paid for ignoring that warning very dearly indeed.

Prior to starting a relationship, when I already had the target identified, I did a reading for likely outcomes of the relationship.

She had already told me she lived in an unsalubrious block of flats, with a local hard-man in one flat who was fresh out of gaol for having permanently and totally disabled someone in an assault with a weapon, and a drug dealer-cum-fence upstairs whose customers were always trying to break in to flats as they arrived and/or left.

We had only known each other a short while as she had been living seven hundred kilometres away, but I was strongly attracted. Her energy seemed clear and straightforward, she talked fifteen-to-the-dozen (I do love a woman who can hold up her end of a conversation and is happy to talk about things that are not trivial) and there really wasn’t any warning of anything negative on an intuitive level.

We had swapped phone numbers a few weeks ago, then lost touch because she had had her phone stolen so the number never answered, and she had lost my business card so she couldn’t ring me. Eventually one morning, I lit a candle, and did a quick, quiet ritual at my Altar to bring her back into my life, then left the house. Two hours later, I walked past her, sitting outside a cafe with two other people.

It became obvious that I was going to ask her out on a date, so before I did, I decided to throw a quick Tarot spread to see if everything looked okay to go ahead. The Seven Swords came out in the reading, in cards indicating what she brought to the relationship (there were cards for what I brought, shat she brought, and the connection between us). I immediately thought: lies, theft, dishonesty, perhaps violence.

I chose to go into the relationship anyway. My justification was: a) you shouldn’t make decisions based only on Tarot, and b) the card was probably referring to the people around her, not to her herself.

And so it looked, in the beginning. Addiction even to legal stuff being what it is, though, after a few years there was theft from me (and my young child’s piggy-bank!), violence and lies towards me from her, and even being effectively kept under house-arrest for years on end. I am still dealing with the ramifications now, a decade later.

My deck knew. I just bloody wish I’d taken notice and run away very, very fast.

Now I *never* ignore Tarot warnings. You really do so at your own risk. Sometimes logic won’t give you the imformation you really need to make an informed decision. Sometimes you need illogic and divinatory tools to unearth something that raw, unaided intuition might miss.

After all: consider a blind person. Now, I know of readers who have sanitised decks, taking out “troubling” cards like Death, the Tower, the Ten Swords, the Five Cups and the like before reading for others so that they can give “happy readings”. Does that give you “happy readings”, though? Or does it merely give you “incomplete readings”, readings with holes all through them?

I also know readers who say that they use entire decks, but that they “protect” their clients from any harshness they see during a reading, and don’t give them any bad news. How useful is that, really? Isn’t a Tarot deck a tool to help you access information that other sources don’t completely yield to you?

Now, consider that blind person again. I have a blind friend called Shaun, who has an amazing and rather beautiful guide dog called Berry. Shaun and Berry are inseparable: she is still young and a bit puppyish when he takes the harness off, but she is a serious working-dog when in harness. The two of them have a deal: Shaun provides her with food, friendship and play, and lets her sleep on his bed. In exchange, she looks out for him and tries to keep him away from danger when they are out-and-about. It’s a fair deal.

Now, a year or so ago when we met, Shaun and I were doing a course together. The educational institution was on a very busy road. Shaun, unable to see, has every right to be a bit apprehensive of his personal safety when he crosses that road. If a Tarot deck is sorta-like my warning system of things I cannot see, Berry is certainly Shaun’s warning system for things he cannot see.

Does Berry, like the reader mentioned above, try to “protect” Shaun by thinking: “Oh, he’ll only get worried if I prevent him from walking in front of that speeding truck, so I’ll hang back and not mention the danger to him, and hope he is okay”? No, she doesn’t. Shaun, like any other well-trained human with a guide dog, will not cross a road without waiting for the dog to be happy about it.

But what if he’s running late for class? He may think he cannot hear a fast-moving, expensive car with a well-tuned engine, therefore it isn’t there. Berry will see it, and will try to prevent him walking out on the road. If Shaun took leave of his senses and dragged the dog out anyway ignoring the warnings, he would get hit by the car. That’s what I did – I ignored the warning, and got hit by the car.

Tarot makes nothing happen. Pulling a “bad card” or a combination of “bad cards” is not going to bring bad luck into your life. Instead, it provides a warning that you need to re-examine your choices and your directions, and perhaps teach yourself how to do things differently to achieve a more positive outcome.

Putting aside a Tarot deck because it honestly warned you of something, and never using it again, is a bit like Shaun having a narrow miss when Berry prevents him from falling down a hole or being hit by a bus – then deciding that because she warned him of this immediate and imminent danger, he is going to leave her at home in the future when he leaves the house because she might warn him of something again one day.

How sensible is that?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

