Cat Amongst the Pigeons

“Belinda lived in a little white house,
With a little black kitten and a little gray mouse,
And a little yellow dog and a little red wagon,
And a realio, trulio, little pet dragon.
Now the name of the little black kitten was Ink,
And the little gray mouse, she called her Blink,
And the little yellow dog was sharp as Mustard,
But the dragon was a coward, so she called him Custard.” (Ogden Nash)

I had a cat called Custard once, in the early and middle 1980s.   Named after the Little Pet Dragon for his demeanour when he originally joined my household, it was not long before Custard was On A Mission From God.

I lived in a block of flats with a feral colony of inbred, deformed and louse-ridden pigeons, apparently supplied for his exclusive benefit – hunting them was cheaper than buying him a season ticket at the gym. God has appointed him avatar and sole deliverer of death to any and all pigeons in the world. He killed three or four a week. Note that this was in my young’n’foolish twenties, before I curfewed cats of a night, and there was a window partly open on a permanent basis for his convenience.

The window-thing came to an end when, one sunny Sunday morning when I was trying to sleep in, sheet down around my hips somewhere and sweaty upper-body completely exposed. Custard jumped up onto my bed – not normally a problem. He looked me deeply in the eyes and said (and cat-people will know I’m doing a translation here): “Nisaba, I love and adore you. I worship the ground you walk on, and the quite deformed paws you have with which you open tins. Here – accept this humble token of love that I have brought for you.”

And with that he dropped a bleeding and very badly injured pigeon, still alive, on my bare chest between my breasts.

From that moment on, the window was closed. He had to meow to be let in or out. Oh, and I couldn’t bring myself to break its neck – I had to dress in a really big hurry, put it under the wheel of my car, and back over it.

Then, of course, there are pigeon-stories from the same building, not the least of which was that one club-footed and obviously club-brained hen always used to lay her eggs in the same nesting-site year after year: the top of a gently sloping gutter downpipe. She never actually bothered building a nest there, so the eggs would come out of her cloaca, roll gracefully off the downpipe, and smash to smithereens around the base of it. Every breeding season she’d try over and over to start a family, resulting in anything from three to eleven (in a massive year) smashed eggs.

Sadly, she wasn’t the one who was deposited on my chest. Do the Darwin Awards have a category for such poor mothering as to increase the average IQ of the species by removing genetically Really Stupid Children before they have a chance to breed? That pigeon, one suspects, would have been a really prime candidate.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cat Amongst the Pigeons

  1. That moves me to tell you the story of a cat called Tigger who was an extremely neat and tidy rat-killing-machine. One night, long after things had turned bad between the Blue Whale of Despair and myself, that very same excuse for a partner was lying naked and drunkenly snoring on her face while I fretted in the usual way beside her. In came Tigger and decided it was not a night for calm Dexter-style destruction in the bathtub; no, the occasion called for a bit of rat hockey. (Cats like me. Cats do things for me.)

    He slapped the half-deceased rodent against a few walls till it was dazed and bloody, tossed it from paw to paw a few times and then for the killer blow tossed it in the air so karmically (is that a word? It is now!) that it almost hit the ceiling before landing with an audible splat in the middle of my (already former) beloved’s naked back.

    Even a drunk couldn’t sleep through that sensation. 😀

Leave a Reply

